Movie Inspired Recipes


Television Inspired Recipes


Book Inspired Recipes

Egg White Frittata w/ Mushrooms, Spinach, & Goat Cheese inspired by Trinity Stones

Egg White Frittata with Mushrooms, Spinach, and Goat Cheese inspired by Trinity Stones |
So, apparently Paranormal Romance is a thing. When I first saw it, all I could picture were aliens in love. Fortunately this novel has no such nonsense in it. It has Nephilim and humans in love. Much better. And I'm being entirely serious. But if asked to give it a genre, I would probably have chosen Supernatural Romance over Paranormal Romance - it just seems more fitting. But I'll move on.

Would you believe me if I told that I've never read a Romance novel before? It's true. They just never appealed to me. I remember studying the Fabio-filled paperback covers in the grocery store when I was a kid, though. They didn't even pique my interest back then. Now, this isn't a straight-up Romance, so I still can't say that I've read one. But if the few pages filled with scenes full of deep penetrating thrusts, milking his hard length, and swirling tongue on sensitive peaks are just a glimpse into their pages, I won't be starting anytime soon. At those points, I felt like I shouldn't be reading the book while my kids were in the same room!

Fortunately those scenes made up very little of the story as a whole. Supernatural and fantasty, on the other hand, I enjoy very much. I was transported to a world of Angels and Demons, Nephilim and Soul Seekers, psychic abilities and out-of-body experiences - that's more my world. Some characters were likeable, some were annoying, some were hateful; just like real life. There was also talk of soul mates (which I believe in) and prophecies. Easy to read and fun to get lost in.
Egg White Frittata with Mushrooms, Spinach, and Goat Cheese |
Now, normally I share foodie reads with you, but from time to time I just pull inspiration from a novel that wouldn't be considered in that category. This is one of the latter times. There were a few mentions of food here and there, but each and every time, just when I thought it was getting ready to launch into a foodie's delight, the descriptions abruptly ended and left me wanting more. But there was enough food mentioned offhand for me to take it further.

Although there were a few gems like Spring Pea Soup with Pancetta and Crème Fraîche, Spicy Roasted Nuts, and a lunch of Cheese, Baguette, Tuna, and Greens mentioned (far too briefly), most of the food talk seemed to be centered on breakfast. Egg sandwiches, scrambled eggs, egg whites on toast...and coffee. There was also a moment of pizza topped with mushrooms. So, I ran with the egg theme - but I added mushrooms. I think that this Egg White Frittata with Mushrooms, Spinach, and Goat Cheese would be the perfect power breakfast not only for Cara, Michael, Sienna and other humans - but also for fueling big, beautiful Nephilim like Chamuel, Isaac, and Zeke before a flight.

Who do I think will enjoy this book? Fans of Fantasy, Supernatural, Science Fiction, and of course, Romance (18+). I admit to becoming invested in the characters. I'm hooked, and will be eagerly awaiting book 2 in the series. Which I will read when the kids are at school or in bed...

Egg White Frittata with Mushrooms, Spinach, and Goat Cheese
This delicious and healthy Egg White Frittata is loaded with mushrooms, spinach, and goat cheese.
Print Friendly and PDF
by Heather Schmitt-Gonzalez
Prep Time: 5-10 minutes
Cook Time: 20-22 minutes
Keywords: bake breakfast entree eggs goat cheese mushrooms spinach

Ingredients (serves 6-8)
  • 10 egg whites (or a 16 ounce carton of egg whites)
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper
  • 2-1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced or quartered
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, grated or minced
  • 2 ounces baby spinach
  • small palmful (a heaping tablespoon) fresh chopped herbs (I used a mix of basil, parsley, and tarragon)
  • 2 ounces fresh (soft) goat cheese
Preheat oven to 350° F. Whisk the egg whites in a bowl until foamy, 30 seconds or so. Beat in the cream, salt, and pepper; set aside.

Set a non-stick, oven-proof skillet over medium heat and add the olive oil. Once hot, add mushrooms, onion, and garlic. Cook for 4-5 minutes, stirring from time to time until mushrooms have released some liquid and started to absorb it again. Toss in the spinach and cook for 1 more minute. Toss in the herbs and stir again.

Pour in the reserved egg white mixture and stir quickly to combine. Let sit undisturbed (still over the heat) for 4 minutes. While it's sitting, break apart the goat cheese and scatter it evenly over the top (it will sink in). After the 4 minutes is up, transfer to the preheated oven and bake until set, 10-12 minutes.

Remove from oven and carefully slide the frittata onto a serving plate or cutting board. Cut into wedges (a serrated knife works well here) and serve warm or at room temperature.
Egg White Frittata with Mushrooms, Spinach, and Goat Cheese inspired by Trinity Stones |

Trinity Stones by LG O'Connor - book tour, review, and inspired recipe |

Trinity Stones
author: LG O'Connor
series: The Angelorum Twelve Chronicles (book 1)
genre: Urban Fantasty / Paranormal Romance (18+)
publisher: She Writes Press
source: tlc book tours
soft cover: 366 pages
"foodie" read: No

random excerpt: Before the introductory credits finished rolling, she was asleep on his chest.

Chamuel had never been this happy or this concerned. He knew two things: he craved Cara with every fiber of his body and soul, and this was the first time he'd felt like this in his one-hundred-forty-seven-year life. If he could freeze time, with her body melded into his like it was now, he'd gladly stay this way for eternity.

Punishment be damned. (p.193)

synopsis (via tlc book tours): New York investment banker, Cara Collins, has little to smile about on her 27th birthday. Her boss is a misogynistic pig and the love of her life is married to someone else. Top that off with a creepy man in the subway and then a homeless woman on the street grabbing her and asking to be healed, and Cara’s panic disorder rears it’s ugly head.  Cara wonders if things could get any worse until a mysterious letter arrives announcing she’s inherited $50 million–which must remain secret or those close to her could die. As Cara unravels the truth surrounding her inheritance, she makes a startling discovery: angels walk among the living, and they’re getting ready to engage in a battle that will determine the future of the human race. In the midst of these revelations, she meets the mysterious and sophisticated Simon who stirs her sleeping heart and offers her another chance at romance. But when the love of her life and his daughter are kidnapped by dark forces, Cara must choose: accept her place in a 2,000-year-old prophecy foretold in the Trinity Stones as the First of the Twelve who will lead the final battle between good and evil . . . or risk losing everything she holds dear.

about the author: L.G. O’Connor is a member of the Romance Writers of America. A corporate strategy and marketing executive for a Fortune 250 company, she writes adult urban fantasy, paranormal romance, and contemporary romance. She is currently preparing the second book in the Angelorum Twelve Chronicles, The Wanderer’s Children, for publication at the end of 2014. In addition, her adult contemporary romance will launch later this year. A native New Jersey girl, she lives a life of adventure, navigating her way through dog toys and soccer balls and loaning herself out for the occasional decorating project. When she’s feeling particularly brave, she enters the kitchen.

further info: website (author) | website (Trinity Stones) | facebook | twitter | goodreads

recipe inspired by the book: Egg White Frittata w/ Mushrooms, Spinach, & Goat Cheese

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.